Past Photos

Hi everyone, I’m Douglas Phan, or at least that’s what everyone calls me in America. My real first name is actually Dũng and I’m from Hanoi, Vietnam. I’m currently 18 years old and I’m turning 19 in 12 days.

I started to learn about photography in COMM130 (Visual Media) and FDCA101 (Foundation Humanities) at BYU-Idaho in Spring Semester 2014 and I love it since. I was very lucky to fly back to Vietnam after Spring Semester ended and I took the opportunity to practice my photography skills. Now, I’m back at BYU-Idaho Winter 2015, excited to learn more!

……………………………….

Here are some my photos I really like that I take during my break in Vietnam:

douglasphan-halloween

This was apparently Halloween. The idea was inspired by Michael Klapp. He’s awesome! Edit: Blend many photos together. B&W. Sharpen.

douglasphan-love

These two both served in my branch while they were on their mission. He is from Melbourne, Australia. She is from Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Two months after the they both got home from their mission, he flew to Vietnam to ask her on a date. Few weeks later, they got married. Edit: add lens flare + saturation

 douglasphan-coconut

Lying under a coconut tree is my favorite thing to do in a hot summer day and these coconut trees are from my favorite island in Vietnam, Ly Son Island. Edit: saturation

douglasphan-hdr

This was when I tried to taught myself High Dynamic Range Photography. It’s very fun and I love how it portray the sunset a lot better than it was straight out of the camera. Edit: Merge HDR and process color through Lightroom and Photoshop

douglasphan-hike

This was taken at one of my favorite place in the world, Ly Son Island. That’s me in the picture trying to look cool. Edit: Sharpen + Contrast + Saturation

douglasphan-missionary

This was one of the most awesome member from my branch. His faith was amazing. When he went on his mission in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, I flew to see him and took this picture of him. Then I edit it to make a plaque for him as a present. Edit: Cut out background, remove blemishes

douglasphan-tomb

This is the Imperial Tomb of Ming Mang, one of the main attractions in Hue, Vietnam. It is located 12 kilometers (7.5 miles) from the city of Hue. I took this in my trip to Hue last summer. Edit: B&W with tint color

douglasphan-leaf

It was a very sunny and hot day. I was walking up a mountain trail in Central Vietnam with my mother. We found a place to rest and I just thought that the trees looked fascinating under the sun. Edit: saturation, sharpen

Leave a comment